Ascend

While the boat is sinking,

No shadow of terror beholds my eyes.

It is the sweet scent of my own flesh and blood

My inner most hearted gift, a radiance which no dark can deny

A hope of ever-growing emotion, a never-ending sea of passion.

Tests of time bare their marks; wars gone by show their scars.

Like the rocking boat that carries me, so am I ascended.

The crude diamond whose flaws you try to amend

So did I only to the find the flaws being my own.

Feeling the sharp edge and so uncertain it grabbed my hand

Attaching to my heart becoming a part of me

So I watch the sea wave away. I know I hold your hand.

A smile doesn’t fade, so together we ascend.

(14/12/2003)

Leave a Reply

