Strangers

‘We really should stop this’ she said her voice slightly breaking, sounding somewhat insincere.
‘stop what? We haven’t done anything yet’ he replies with a smile
‘you know what I mean’ she mumbles and as she does she moves closer to him. He grabs hold of her and pulls her close to him. ‘comeon Joseph, you know we can’t’ she answers playfully
‘Oh who cares?! And you know you want to!’ He is an arrogant bastard, always was. The typical bad boy and she hates herself for liking him that much better for it. He grabs hold of her head with his right hand and kisses her strongly on the mouth. At first she struggles slightly but she quickly gives in letting herself go with the kiss, knowing where this will lead her.
***
Michelle was in the kitchen cutting vegetables. Why she wasn’t all that sure, it sure as hell wasn’t for that no good cheating husband of hers. He had been out late again the night before, so called working. But she knew better than that, working was the last thought on his mind, she was sure of that.
Meno was walking down the stairs ‘ Hi hun’ he called.
‘Don’t you hun me!’ Where were you last night?!’ She asked her voice filled with venomous contempt.
‘I was at work. I told you.’ he answered calmly.
‘Yeah, ofcourse you were. Why did it take you so long to get home then? And why didn’t you answer my calls?’ her voice was rising quite a bit now.
‘Work took longer then I thought, and I had a deadline you know that. Couldn’t have any distractions so I turned off my phone, but I came back home as soon as I finished’
‘Yes ofcourse you did. You are such a liar! Why did you come back home at all?! Why didn’t you stay with the one you are having an affair with huh?’ she was practically screaming now.
‘Oh come on hun, would I be stupid enough to come back home if I was having an affair?’ It was the wrong thing to say and he knew it as soon as he said it.
‘So you are admitting you had an affair?! You Bastard!’
‘No I didn’t have an affair, I told you. You can check with Larry he was in the office with me, just ask him’ He was pleading now, but pleading at this point was like pleading with a rabid dog. Both are pointless, although Meno wished he was negotiating with a rabid dog right now, at least he would have the chance to get away.
‘Of course Larry would say whatever you wanted him too; you are great pals’ she muttered.
‘This is ridiculous, I can’t talk to you when you’re like this. I’ll be in the garage talk to me when you’re normal.’ Meno retorted, and walked down the stairs towards the garage. The day was warm and he opened the garage doors to let in some much needed air and sunlight. He took off his shirt and started working on his pet project, the reconstruction of an old 1964 Chevy convertible. He had already previously tweaked the engine and there were just a few more things he needed to do to get the car up and running.
He was busy working on the car when suddenly an unfamiliar female voice was calling out to him.
‘Hello? Excuse me’ Meno turned around to see a cute skinny blond girl standing in front of his garage.
‘Yes? Can I help you with anything?’ He asked.
‘I hope so, I just moved here and I thought I’d take a look at the neighbourhood.’
‘Oh did you buy a property here?’
‘Yes, I bought a house in the other street, I’m Joan’ She said extending her arm.
‘Hi Joan, I’m Meno. It’s a pleasure to meet you.’ He answered shaking her extended hand. ‘I didn’t know there was a house for sale in this neighbourhood.’ He added.
‘I saw it a couple of weeks ago and fell in love with the place.’ She answered smiling ‘I don’t know anything about the community though, are the people here nice?’
‘Most of them are. Just don’t get on Miss Burrows bad side and everything will be fine. She is a little further down the road at number 54’
‘I’ll make sure to avoid her then’ she said the same smile still painted on her face ‘anything else I should know?’
‘I don’t think so it’s a pretty nice neighbourhood. There are a lot of places to go for walks around the area if that’s your thing and the people are kind and most of the neighbours know each other. So that is probably what marks a good neighbourhood’
‘How about any singles? Or are there only couples here?’
‘Mostly couples. There is I think only one single guy here’
‘You?’ Joan asks smiling a cheeky smile
‘Ehh… No I’m married’ Milo answers awkwardly
‘Oh, sorry I didn’t really mean anything by it. It’s just that you’re a handsome guy so I was just wondering that’s it’ Joan smiles a big broad smile
‘Don’t worry about it. I actually like it when a woman is direct. I wish they were all like that, it would save a lot of time. Maybe I should get you to meet my wife’ Milo adds smiling.
‘Sure, anything I can do to help. But just so I know where does the single guy here live and is he good looking?’ Joan quickly asks
‘Oh he is at number 25. Don’t know if he is good looking though it is kinda hard to tell’
‘Alright, no problem. Maybe I’ll go check for myself. It was nice meeting you’
‘Yeah you too’ Milo stares at Joan as she walks away, her ass swaying from side to side. She is a beautiful woman and for several moments Milo thinks of screwing her. It has been so long since he’s actually had sex and with his wife’s constant bickering he never feels like it anymore. At least not with her, but it’s not like she would like to either. It seems as though lately the only thing she wants to do is shout at him. Milo lets it go and goes back to work on his car.
***
‘My lord that was incredible’ he announces sweaty and naked in his bed. He is laying on his back one hand behind his head the other around a beautiful woman.
‘I’m glad you liked it’ she replies her voice pouring. She is naked under the blanket her head leaning on his chest.
‘I could get used to this’ he says smiling slightly.
‘Well don’t get your hopes up’ she answers jokingly and slaps him gently on his chest.
They lay there in each other’s embrace, very content to let the day pass although they both know that sooner rather than later, they will have to get back up and face the world.
***
Adam sat in front of his TV when his front door bell rang. Reluctantly he got up and walked towards the door, he hated being interrupted during his favourite pass time, watching television. He opened the door while still facing the television set.
‘Yes’ he said and turned his head to face the intruder. In front of him stood a beautiful blond woman he had never seen previously. Staring at the women in front of him all thoughts of his precious television programme fade and his jaw drops open.
‘Hi, I’m Joan’ says the pretty blond extending her hand.
‘Hi Joan, I’m Adam’ replies Adam managing to close his mouth.
‘I just moved here and I thought I’d introduce myself’ Joan smiles a sheepish smile and adds ‘I talked to Meno earlier and he told me you were the only single guy in this place’
Adam rubbed his head before answering awkwardly ‘Yeah, I guess that’s true… Would you like to come in?’
***
Adam and Joan got dressed and looked at each other. For Adam this was a first of what he hoped would be a much needed change in his life. He could only guess what it meant for Joan but she seemed eager enough, maybe there was something more there. He stared at Joan, at the curves of her body and he couldn’t help but feel a little elated at having been with this woman. He smiles broadly at her when suddenly the door bell rings. Twice in one day? He wonders, that happens only very rarely.
Leisurely he walks towards the door and opens it, before he can even say hello however a knife appears and slices his throat. He wants to shout, to scream, to cry, but it is all too late the blood of his life is flowing out of him. He is pushed violently backwards and the door closes behind him.
‘Adam? Who was it?’ asks Joan from the bedroom. But Adam can’t answer, he falls to the floor and gasping for air loses consciousness.
‘Adam?’ calls Joan again. She walks towards the door and before she can reach it she is confronted by a figure, light shining from behind the figure makes any feature indistinguishable. Fear slowly rises within her, telling her that this figure is dangerous. She wants to run, to get away and as she tries to do so the figure reaches to her and she feels something wet dripping. She reaches up to her throat and looks in surprise at her wet and gluey hands but before she can even realize that it is blood, she falls down to the floor and slowly faints. The figure stares at the two for a moment and then calmly walks out the door.
Outside a car is waiting it is a 1964 Chevy convertible, the figure walks towards the car and enters it from the passenger’s side, inside it Meno is sitting at the wheel.
‘Is it done?’ he asks.
The figure removes the cape and answers ‘It is. Wow I needed that, we should be alright now for a while.’
‘So what are the new names?’ asks Meno.
‘I don’t know. I liked Michelle.’
‘How about Joseph and Jenny?’ suggests Meno.
‘We already had Joseph’ answers Michelle.
Meno starts the car and they drive away into the next town.
***
Phillip stands on his porch looking out over the bay. His wife Deborah is at it again she has been at it for weeks. The endless shouting, the fighting, for the first time he thinks about leaving her, but there are too many things buried between them, too many secrets they keep, they can never truly be apart from one another. No matter how bad things would ever get. He sighs and walks into his study. He opens a small drawer in his desk and takes out a small folder. The folder contains several pages filled with newspaper clippings. He stares at them, they are their history, they include everything and he stares at them with love. He closes the folder and feels content and almost inspired to add another clipping. From the side of the folder one little newspaper clipping can be seen its title is another gruesome murder with no suspects or clues.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

