Leaves that pass

There are things in life I don’t understand. It is not a criticism, far from it I have settled myself to accept this reality. There will always be things that I will not understand and although I am now quite emotionless about it and rational, it was not always so. There was a time where understanding meant everything to me, there was a specific thing though in my life that changed this. A specific occurrence that made me lose all relation to what I thought was real, and made me realize that I will never understand everything. 

It was a day like any other. It was autumn and leaves were falling off the trees in an endless array of colors. I always find it to be a beautiful sight and today was a perfect day to look upon the leaves, and see them descend from the trees and fall on to the earth. Where days later they would be collected and disposed of, most likely to be used as biological waste. I was watching the leaves fall and forgot all about the plan I had for the day. I am a writer and as such can organize my time as I want. However, I have to deal with deadlines and because I am on my own, most of the time, this means I have to keep myself motivated and never lose sight of the goal. 

The sight of leaves left me lost and my schedule was disrupted, so instead of starting early that morning I ended up starting late that evening and wrote all through the evening and night. It was then that my world view slightly changed. But I am getting ahead of myself, this happens to me on occasion when I am too excited. 

I started writing that evening in my home. It is a cozy home, if somewhat old fashioned. I own many books and the style of my house is filled with rich dark wood, My house is build from wood and almost every furniture in it is different shades of wood, some brighter some darker. The reason I tell you about this is, that the wood expands when the temperature changes. These changes mean that the wood creaks on occasion, it is something I have gotten used to, but many of my guests find it a little unsettling. This because although they find my house quite beautiful, at night when normally the concrete houses are quiet, my house feels as though it is alive, with wood that creaks even though no one is walking on it and other little moans, groans and screeches. 

Sitting behind my desk I wrote the first lines of a new story. Behind me the house started creaking in the wind, it was a loud wind that hit the side of the house with tremendous force. The house moaned in protest but as the wind died off the moaning stayed. It was slightly unsettling and I couldn’t concentrate on my writing. I got up  and went to find what was making the noise. I walked towards the front door where the moaning seemed to becoming from. As I reached the door I turned on the light outside and peeked through the curtains outside. I saw leaves flying upwards, but other than that nothing. I left it at that and returned to my desk and my computer but before I could go on with my work a knocking sound reached my ears. 

I walked towards the door and looked through the window outside, but saw nothing, so I returned to my desk. As soon as I sat down another knock came. I was becoming annoyed, it had to be a prank by some of the neighbors children. I got up again and angrily opened the door. To my expectation no one was there, they were hiding in the bushes most likely. I walked towards the bushes expecting to see the children hiding there, but found no one. A large bang send my heart flying from my chest to my throat. I turned fearing the worst, and breathed a sigh of relief when I saw that it was only the door that banged shut. 

Cursing myself for my foolishness I walked back to my house and got back behind my computer shutting the door and light behind me. But once again I was interrupted, this time by a shattering sound that came from the my bedroom. Maybe someone got into my house when I was outside? I ran upstairs into my bedroom to find my mirror shattered. There was no one there, and the window was closed, I began a search throughout the house which yielded nothing. 

Nothing strange happened after that and I went to bed not getting any work done. In the morning when I woke up the first thing I did was open the curtains down the stairs next to the front door and looked outside. The leaves that should have been on the floor were gone and the trees that were supposed to be without the majority of their leaves, still had them, decorating their branches. I decided to let it be, I didn’t understand what happened in the night just like I don’t know what happened with the leaves. I choose not to dwell on it and just let it fly by. One thing I do know for sure, it was not my imagination playing tricks on me, because the mirror is still broken and I haven’t cleaned the pieces yet. I don’t know why I haven’t cleaned it yet. But I know it is not my imagination, it is not!

Leave a Reply

